Pancha Bhoota Lingams

Life on earth has come into existence by chance and species originated with a wonderful combination of five elements of nature namely air, water, fire, land and ether. These five elements are called as Panchabhootas. Life is not possible without these basic elements.

Lord shiva the mighty diety is represented in linga roopam mostly, lingas representing these 5 elements have been built.

• Prithivi Lingam – Ekambareswarar Temple, Kanchipuram

Ekambareswarar Temple is located in the town of Kanchipuram in Tamil Nadu. It represents element earth, or Prithvi. The temple was built by Chola dynasty kings in 9th century and following expansions and developments were done by Vijayanagara rulers.

• Jambu Lingam – Jambukeshwarar Temple, Thiruvanaikaval, Trichy

Jambukeswaram also famous as Thiruvanaikaval is located in Tiruchirapalli (Trichy), in Tamil Nadu. It represents element water, or jambu. The temple was built by Early Chola kings, around 1,800 years ago. The sanctum of Jambukeswara has an underground water stream and the lingam is submerged in water.

•Agni Lingam (Jyothi Lingam) – Arunachaleswara Temple, Thiruvannamalai

Arunachaleswara temple is located in Thiruvannamlai, in Tamilnadu. It represents element fire, or Agni. The temple was built by Chola kings in 9th century.

• Vayu Lingam – Sri Kalahastheeswara Temple, Kalahasthi, Andhra Pradesh

Sri Kalahasthi temple is located in town of Srikalahasthi, in Andhra Pradesh. It represents element Air, or Vayu. The temple was built by Chola kings and Vijayanagara Kings in 12th century. Srikalahasthi is considered as Dakshina kasi and Poojas can be performed for Rahu-Ketu doshas.

•Akasha Lingam – Nataraja Temple, Chidambaram

Nataraja temple is located in Chidambaram, in Tamilnadu. It represents element Ether, or Akasha. The temple was built by Chola kings. There is no physical lingam present, unlike other lingams at other temples. The Akasha Lingam, an embodiment of Shiva as the formless Space.

Post Comment
Loading Facebook Comments ...